There is one rule I don't get from MTG and Lorcana
Tap/Untap or Exertion/Rest
I always forget to do this
Why is this needed?
Why is the card in play has to be tapped/exerted to do anything or attacked?
Why not just activate them the moment you put them on the table?
If it's because you don't want the character to be attacked, why put them on the table?
Why not just keep them in your hand like poker or keep it face down (on a separate place from the deck/pool)
#MTG #Lorcana #Disney #TCG
The reason I'm annoyed by tap/untapping and exertion/rest and the reason I always forget it is because I always need to reread the card and check how much it's cost, how much attack, HP and Defense it has
That means I will have to pick it up, read, and put it back down again
That's when I forget
Was this exerted/tapped or not
Yes even if I only pick up one card with the intention to check if I want to attack or not, because I'll check both exerted and resting cards
#MTG #Lorcana #Disney #TCG
@crafantale Because in hand/in play is a separate dimension from usable/not usable.
Speaking from a M:tG perspective:
* Your hand defaults to not being visible to your opponent. Cards in play normally are visible to your opponent.
* Cards in hand represent "potential", not currently manifest "reality". Thus, something in hand is not targeted the same way as something in play. You can't deal damage to a creature in hand, and you can deal damage to a creature in play.
1/2
@crafantale * Tapping is an opportunity cost. You normally can't attack with a creature and use an ability of the creature that specifically requires it be tapped in the same turn, and if you do either on your turn you normally can't block with that creature on your opponent's turn.
* If you return something to your hand as a cost, that means you have to pay its casting cost again to put it back into play. By contrast, tapping normally undoes itself for free when your next turn starts.
2/2
@pteryx I think I remember casting cost but not that there are abilities that can only be used while tapped and untapped
That means it's even more complicated than I remember then, and more complicated (because there's more to remember) than I like from a card game. Thank you anyway.